MySql Error

Found a bug? Tell us!!
Wizard
Regular

MySql Error

Post by Wizard »

I've been using s9y for 2+ years now with no major problems to speak of. The product just works and works well. However in the past month I have been receiving this error just hitting the home page and sometimes trying to login.

Warning: mysql_connect(): Too many connections in /home/serendipity/include/db/mysql.inc.php on line 251

Warning: mysql_select_db(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/usr/local/mysql-5.0/data/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/serendipity/include/db/mysql.inc.php on line 252

Warning: mysql_select_db(): A link to the server could not be established in /home/serendipity/include/db/mysql.inc.php on line 252
DATABASE_ERROR

I use GoDaddy as my hosting service and after talking to them for a while it has been determined that even though I allow for 50 concurrent database logins the application (s9y) must not time out the logins it must use to display pages, plugings, etc.

Is there any cure for me? Nothing has been changed for a while (like over a year).
Wizard
My WeBlog
garvinhicking
Core Developer

Re: MySql Error

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

This error happens, because your MySQL server serves more connections than your provider allows. This means: You have too many visitors. Or too many spammers.

So, there are some options for you:

1. Ask the provider to raise the limit

2. Anayze your traffic and/or ask your provider to see if many spammers are hitting your site and if you can use IP-Bans or other means of DDoS combatting.

3. Reduce the number of event plugins / sidebar plugins that you use to lower your performance impact. I can only see your sidebar plugins, and the only one I spot that could impact performance is Photo Album (because it calls a foreign URL)

Also I see you're using serendipity 1.0 - there have been some performance improvements made in version 1.2, so maybe you can consider upgrading.

Regards,
Garvin